Hate to Love You

Today, as I logged onto WordPress to write my blog post, I saw another writing prompt: what do you love about yourself? Rest assured, I’m not planning on launching into a spiel about my awesomeness, but instead, I’m going to write about something that I love and how it helps me to learn languages.
I love clothes. It’s not even an exaggeration to say that I love clothes, shopping for clothes, wearing clothes (duh. I’m probably the coldest person in the Northern Hemisphere and I wrap up like a Pass-the-Parcel parcel on a daily basis) and looking at magazines about clothes.  This is where language learning comes in.  Whenever I can, I buy Vogue, ELLE, Glamour – etc, all the fashiony magazines! Luckily for me, all of these magazine have international editions, so if I’m travelling abroad or if someone I know is going to be hanging around an airport, I do my best to get my hands on a French/Spanish/German copy of Vogue, ELLE, or Marie Claire. Sometimes I even buy Italian Vogue, even though I don’t speak Italian (yet)!
In this way, I learn through reading (a learning method which Stephen Krashen espouses). I accumulate new, useful vocabulary and read different articles. As the language used in magazine articles is generally different from journalistic or literary language, I also get to experience a new kind of register, tone, and writing. I also get an insight into a different culture, because seeing how a country dresses is a fascinating experience. Stereotypes are stereotypes for a reason, because I’ve never seen so many black and white editorials (that’s a ten-or-twelve page feature of clothes and models) than in French Vogue!
Even though I can’t buy them all the time – especially since they cost a LOT – I still follow these magazines on Twitter and I have “liked” their pages on Facebook. In this way, I get to see bite-size chunks of fashion and foreign languages every day, and all for free and from the comfort of my own home.

Leave a Reply

